Fat Tuesday [Marinated Steak Tips]

A month into second child territory, I decided to venture back into the kitchen. Well, I venture into the kitchen about 80 times a day. Girl likes to eat. But I decided it was time to stop living off of takeout and frozen meals and actually cook my sweet little family a meal. A real meal, that I had to, like, go to the grocery store to provide. And didn’t come from the freezer aisle.

I decided to make steak tips. I don’t know why. I’ve never made them before. I’ve never even ordered them in a restaurant. I do know that other people like them, so I figured, why not?

photo-649

I got home, and like any seasoned chef, googled “how to broil steak tips.” This was at 3pm. Apparently, I got a late start, given that I needed to marinate them for at least 4 hours. We’ve got a strict 7pm bedtime deadline in our house these days, so 4 hours was not on the table, so to speak.

Oh, and also? This marinade you speak of, recipe? How do I go about that?

So I googled again: “steak marinade recipe” and came across a recipe, that, miracles of miracles, I actually had most of the necessary ingredients for. And it was good.

Altogether, I marinaded the steak tips (cut into 1 inch cubes) for about 2.5 hours. When I moved the steak to the broiler, I took the leftover marinade and cooked it down to a nice sauce we drizzled on top. Yum town.  And I don’t think I am just saying that because I’ve only been eating pizza and Chinese takeout for a month….

Steak Marinade (adapted from here)

1/2 cup soy sauce

2 tbsp vegetable oil

2 tbsp lemon juice

2 tbsp brown sugar

1 minced garlic clove

Pepper to taste

Directions:

Cut steak tips into 1 inch sections and place into dish. Cover with marinade and refrigerate for 2-3 hours.  Allow to rest at room temperature for 3o minutes before broiling. Place 6″ under broiler for 4 minutes per side. Serve hot.

To use the marinade as a sauce, simmer under low to medium heat for 3o minutes.

I served the steak with, what else? Twice baked potatoes. That may or may not have been picked up ready made from the meat counter. Baby steps, people. Baby steps.

One thought on “Fat Tuesday [Marinated Steak Tips]

I love it when internet friends tell me what's what. Leave a comment!

