Let There Be White [Carpet, that is]

The carpet is done! And the trim is *almost* done (so just pretend it is!). It’s amazing how much more open and brighter the room appears. Much less dungeon-like. Which is good, since this is on the second floor and all and we are going to make it our master bedroom. Eventually, it will be masterful. Mark my words. Just don’t set a date. Excuse the iPhone photos, but that’s what you get.


I love how the fireplace really stands out now. I don’t love how much the tan outlet covers stand out, but don’t worry- I already bought new ones. You probably already knew that, though. And why yes! Thanks for noticing! The ceiling fans *don’t* match. And only one has a light. Which is the only light source in the whole room. I’m working on Kase to approve new fans. Wouldn’t you agree, these would really do the trick? They are even on sale! Help a sister out. Leave a comment. πŸ™‚

For the record, this is pre-jump, not pre-dump. Β Same position. Very different outcomes.

For now, we are hoping to keep the back bedrooms as open and clear as possible since it looks like we will be hosting family over New Years. Yay! And with the new carpet, the back bedrooms are much more light and open feeling, even with their funky “textured” ceilings. Those are *on purpose*. I don’t know. I don’t understand it either.

Over time, we will make the transition to creating a walk in closet, maybe once January hits and Container Store hosts its annual Elfa Sale. (PS- Anyone have experience with Elfa closets? Or something similar? Did I read somewhere they go on sale in January? I am clinging to that hope.) Colin seems to think they are cozy as they are. He made himself right at home.

In the meantime, our painter continues to paint trim, trim and yet more trim. He is doing the whole house, so it’s taking a bit of time. He’s hopeful he will get the walls started this week and be done before Friday. Keep your fingers crossed. πŸ˜‰ I’m very excited, because it’s going to make such a difference. In fact, tomorrow I’ll show some “befores” of the mudroom bathroom and the family room. Bring your sunglasses. Or sick buckets. Whichever you prefer.

5 thoughts on “Let There Be White [Carpet, that is]

  1. Yes you need new fans πŸ™‚ With all that fresh paint they look a bit dingy. I am jonesin’ for some new fans too. We have these hideous white ones that are made of plastic. They are at least clean looking but they are also cheap looking. It takes so much time and money to change out every little thing that bugs ya in a house doesn’t it.

    • Oh please. I haven’t yet shown the fan that is in the Nursery. Which is plastered with bumper stickers. For real. I have a feeling we’ll be buying fans in bulk, which is why Kase is putting me off. It’s cool. As I tell Colin, “I am more patient than you, and I always get my way.”

      • twilight zone – scary sometimes we have so much in common. When we moved into our current house one of the rooms had regular and bumper stickers all over the walls. Glow in the dark star stickers all over the ceiling and fan. And there were about 10,000 thumbtack holes in the wall. It was a F’in nightmare. Needless to say that was the first room I tackled and it took a month. The only thing that motivated me was we were having an exchange student come live with us for 2 weeks so I had to get it done.

  2. Totally digging the new fans. A few things that might help your sales pitch…if you pick up the change of address packet at the post office there is a 10% Lowe’s coupon. Also, if you get their credit card you always save 5% which is equivalent to sales tax here in VA…not sure what it is up there, but every little bit helps.

    We had the same dingy outlets and covers at our last house, along with a few stunning brass ones. Gag! Such a pain to switch them out and all that little crap adds up to take away from the more exciting projects sometimes. Total bummer! Loving the new carpet and can’t wait to see what else you all do in your new digs!

    • Elizabeth- is it illegal to horde the Lowes Coupons? I have three. Not sure how. But they keep coming, so I am going to use them. Which is good, because I was considering having my MIL fill out a form saying she was a new homeowner. I’m not above it. Just want to make sure it’s legal. πŸ˜‰

I love it when internet friends tell me what's what. Leave a comment!

