You should read this. And this, too.

Maybe it’s the three seasons of Real Housewives reunions running simultaneously, or the sheer overwhelming number of fall shows that have returned and I can’t keep up with, but I have found myself snug in bed by 8:15pm most nights, curled up with these two guys:

I guess I just need the peace and quiet. Something that watching six straight hours of Real Housewives reunions doesn’t quite afford.  And a nice warm canine body snuggling my big fat pregnant belly ain’t so bad either. Bottom line is I’ve been reading a ton. And I’ve got some book recs for you.

First up, we have “Wonder” by R.J. Palacio. This is one of the best books I have read in a long time. Fair warning: it’s a tear jerker.  Well, to be fair, my mom thinks it made me cry because I am pregnant with a little boy and experiencing “hormones” but I’ll let the reviews speak for themselves. This book is good. Here is the synopsis:

“August Pullman was born with a facial deformity that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. WONDER, now a New York Times bestseller, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance. “

“The Light Between Oceans”  is my next pick. I love a book that really makes you think “what if?” and puts you in the mindset of the character right away. This book is thought provoking in that way. I know this because I talked about the premise of this book a lot with Kase. He wasn’t reading it, and generally didn’t know what I was talking about, so he nodded a lot. I recommended my mom read it and she loved it. Here is the synopsis:

“After four harrowing years on the Western Front, Tom Sherbourne returns to Australia and takes a job as the lighthouse keeper on Janus Rock, nearly half a day’s journey from the coast. To this isolated island, where the supply boat comes once a season and shore leaves are granted every other year at best, Tom brings a young, bold, and loving wife, Isabel. Years later, after two miscarriages and one stillbirth, the grieving Isabel hears a baby’s cries on the wind. A boat has washed up onshore carrying a dead man and a living baby.

Tom, whose records as a lighthouse keeper are meticulous and whose moral principles have withstood a horrific war, wants to report the man and infant immediately. But Isabel has taken the tiny baby to her breast. Against Tom’s judgment, they claim her as their own and name her Lucy. When she is two, Tom and Isabel return to the mainland and are reminded that there are other people in the world. Their choice has devastated one of them.”

“The Shoemaker’s Wife”  I am a sucker for historical fiction, especially that which takes place in New York City around the turn of the century. So this fit the bill. That it is a love story that spans generations and geography is the icing on the cake. It’s a feel good book, which this “hormonal” lady needs. Here is the synopsis:
“The fateful first meeting of Enza and Ciro takes place amid the haunting majesty of the Italian Alps at the turn of the last century. Still teenagers, they are separated when Ciro is banished from his village and sent to hide in New York’s Little Italy, apprenticed to a shoemaker, leaving a bereft Enza behind. But when her own family faces disaster, she, too, is forced to emigrate to America. Though destiny will reunite the star-crossed lovers, it will, just as abruptly, separate them once again—sending Ciro off to serve in World War I, while Enza is drawn into the glamorous world of the opera . . . and into the life of the international singing sensation Enrico Caruso. Still, Enza and Ciro have been touched by fate—and, ultimately, the power of their love will change their lives forever.”
So, have you read any good books lately? Share, please. The more hormonal the better.
5 thoughts on “You should read this. And this, too.

    • Thanks for the rec! Will put it down on my list. I am just about to finish another good book- will review as well, later. But I’m in the market for another good read, so thanks!

  1. I really need to read more and those 1st 2 recommendations look great! I had been on a memoir kick for a while. I am a big fan of Augusten Burroughs. He is quite sarcastic. Hate to admit it but the last books I read were the Hunger Games trilogy. Sad, I have other books I could recommend but I can’t think of any off the top of my head right now.

    • Leslie,

      I love love love Augusten Borroughs. So much so that when we were teaching Colin the word “Cow” I couldn’t help but say “Cow Cow” after his dog. When Colin started repeating “Cow Cow” and then “Dog Dog” etc, we realized we had to censor ourselves s a bit more, no matter how awesome Augusten might be. Have you read his brother’s book? “Look Me In the Eye” by John Elder Robison. Pretty cool to see his take on their upbringing as well.

      • ooh I didn’t know his brother was a writer. I will have to check that out. I haven’t read all of his books but I have Wolf at the Table on my shelf unread.
        Speaking of censoring. The other night at dinner my 2 year old started saying the “F” word over and over again. My husband and I were trying not to laugh and of course I had to take the video camera out. We didn’t think we swore around him. Well 2 days later we were outside and he started saying it again, but this time he was pointing to a cement frog we have in the garden. PHEW! I think there may have been a coloring book near the table when we were eating so I hope he saw a frog then too.

        Today at the grocery store, a Kermit helium balloon had gotten loose and was on the ceiling. Well guess what he was saying? Thank god I was there early in the morning, I don’t think anyone hear him. I just kept saying yes “frog, look at kermit”

I love it when internet friends tell me what's what. Leave a comment!

