Let’s Get This Party [Prep] Started

Dudes. This pregnancy is hitting me kinda hard. Like, I’m pretty much useless. Seriously. Useless. Tired. Unmotivated. Blah.

Last year this time, I think I had already taken photos of mock tablescapes for Colin’s party. Cuz I’m that chick. Or, at least, I *was* that chick. This year? Not so much. I’m gonna give myself a pass since it’s a two year old birthday party for only close family. Literally- Close. As in location. So it is going to be small. And I was fine with that. I was gonna do a chill family party.

And then I read Shannon’s blog today.

And then I had a little pregnancy induced cry because Gabe’s mom is just so much better than I am. And then I felt bad for Colin. And for my unborn child, who undoubtedly will also have craptastic birthday parties I will work too hard on and will turn out crappy.

And then I pulled myself together and went to Michael’s. And we know how that story ends. (Poorer and Not well)

But it’s time. It’s time to get back to the swing of things and to remember that once upon a time, I loved throwing parties. Hell, I was paid for it. Mind you, I was paid to hire the talented people who could put it all together, but I knew the people to call. So while this won’t be a Pinterest-worthy shindig, I hope the birthday boy himself will enjoy it.

I mean, Jesus. He’s two. He likes rocks. I should be able to do this.

Hell, I’m even stealing an idea from Shannon herself, so there’s an upside to procrastinating. πŸ˜‰

2 thoughts on “Let’s Get This Party [Prep] Started

  1. I wenty through the same things as you. Tired, didn;t want to spend a lot f oney on a b-day party for a 2 year old where just family was invited but I kept seeing so many great ideas online. I caved! But just a little. We did a b-day brunch to work around theb-days boys nap schedule. brunch was also a lot cheaper and lots of easy to make ahead items. simple balloon decorations. It was all a hit. You will be fine πŸ™‚

  2. You shut your dirty mouth. You are so good at this stuff and Colin’s party will be awesome. The picture of the freakin supplies got me pumped. But hey, thanks for the compliments, I appreciate it. And I am not pregnant in the least bit so that’s how I’m able to accomplish stuff. Also, my kid watches more Super Why than I care to admit. So there.

I love it when internet friends tell me what's what. Leave a comment!

