My Mother’s Day Gift

Kase has been asking me what I would like to do for Mother’s Day. And I didn’t really have an answer.

Until today.

My mind came up with a brilliant plan. My silly mind. It has a mind of it’s own.

You see, hanging around the house not having to constantly pick up after people because I pick up after myself, thankyouverymuch, I have the time to walk around and take a good hard look at things. And this is what I see:

The picture is not blurry. The camera was crying.

I know. I KNOW. Colin’s closet had more style than this room. Sadsies. I couldn’t tell you what happened. We moved. Then we moved again. And then? I was just plain tired of trying to decorate rooms and more rooms. Plus, Apartment Therapy asked me to stop emailing them about “Colin’s new new new room.”

If you decorate a room and Apartment Therapy doesn’t document it, did it really happen?

I think we tried harder with the closet because it was a closet. And we put our kid in it. But now? He has a room. He should feel special. So what if there’s nothing hanging on the walls? And the rug is a $25 number from Ikea and is stained? I certainly didn’t pee on it. Colin can only blame himself for that one.

Moms out there. You understand me, right? You get it. For all this time you spend planning out your child’s nursery (waste of time, btw) you are hopefully in and out of there in less than five minutes most days. And if heaven forbid, your child is having restless nights, you are in there, but it’s pitch black. See no evil and all that.

Now I don’t know if it’s the fact that our regular routine has been switched up or what, but *someone* has been making it into our bed a little too often for my liking these days. But who can blame the kid. Look at that room. It’s downright frightening.

Acknowledging you have a problem is the first step. The second step is shopping.

So maybe, just maybe, my mother’s day present this year could be to make Colin’s new new new new room a little spiffier. A new rug, maybe a few new accessories. We’ll keep the existing furniture (the dresser, glider and crib anyway), and the giraffe of course.

But the real present? Kase nodding his head yes. Over and over again. When I want to buy the rug. When I want to move furniture.

Nod and smile, Kase. It’s my day. You’ll get your revenge in June.

So now I ask for your opinion. Which I may or may not accept with a grain of salt. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Which color rug?

I’m leaning towards the brown.

Glider/ Rug/ Crib/ Map/ Giraffe

So what do you think?ย I need to call Kase and tell him what he’s giving me. ๐Ÿ˜‰

7 thoughts on “My Mother’s Day Gift

  1. I like the brown best b/c it is a more naturey color. It also picks up on the brown spots on the giraffe and the brown in the map. Now if you plan on redoing his room in the near future I also like the grey b/c grey seems to go with so much. If you decide to change your color scheme. I don’t care to much for the black which is odd b/c I usually love black.

    PS and now I really wish I had a blog so you could help me decorate my little one’s room. I can never make up my mind!!

  2. I like the brown one also…

    Grey would be my second choice. You have more options with both of them. If you do the black stripes, Colin might start channeling Beetlejuice; I don’t think you have time for that.

I love it when internet friends tell me what's what. Leave a comment!

