Read any good books lately?

My injury has thrown quite  a wrench in our normal schedule. Since heading to the podiatrist, I have been confined to our bed or couch with my foot elevated all day long. Luckily, I have the world’s best mother in law, and she was here from Wednesday until Saturday morning, basically waiting on my lazy ass hand and foot. And doing my dirty laundry. And chasing my feral child. And changing his poopie diapers. And bathing him. If you ever want to feel like a completely useless nag, have your mother in law replace you for three days. I would have cried but I was too grateful for her indentured servitude.

During that time, Kase and I had to come up with a plan of action for the next three weeks. For the first time in 20 months, our child will go to a DAYCARE. I am coming down with some sort of viral infection just thinking about it. Just kidding. But truly, this is going to really take some getting used to. What do normal people do all day who don’t have jobs and kids?

That wasn’t rhetorical. I’m really asking.

Just last week alone, I was on the horn making call after call trying to set up child care, cancel Gymboree classes and questioning insurance limits. During this time, Colin took to stealing my cell phone, hopping on his ride on race car and having entire conversations while driving. I sternly warned him that texting while driving was absolutely forbidden. He yelled back in response, “BYEEEEE!”  Couldn’t tell you if he understood my point or not. He hopped back on another call immediately, “Hi! Blah blah A B C D Y. AH HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!”

It reminded me of my old job, where most of the day I was either responding to emails or making phone calls. I remember one comment in my yearly review was to be more proactive. All administrative assistants got this comment. It made us laugh of course, because we didn’t have time to be proactive. Our job was to constantly put out fires or start new ones for someone else.

Which is a lot like my life right now. Apparently, I am a reactive parent. Probably most stay at home parents of only children have this luxury: “Hey honey! Did you have a nice nap? Are you hungry? Let’s find something for you to eat? Do you want to play cars? Go to the park? Okay, let’s get dressed then.” We barely have a schedule most days; we just do what we feel like doing. Sometimes that means we stay in all day and never change out of our jammies. We certainly don’t have any systems in place for a mother who is injured and immobile (she might say impotent), a father who works from 7am until 11pm, and a 20 month old toddler who has never stepped foot in an all day daycare program.

We spent this weekend buying lunch boxes and additional sippy cups that most likely will not return to our possession, buying supplies for lunches that don’t require a microwave or refrigerator, washing new crib sheets, and unearthing our diaper bag from storage. We packed said diaper bag and laid out our outfits for the week since we can’t just lounge around the house in our jammies all day watching the Sprout Channel because it is Monday for crying out loud and we like to ease into our week.

It’s not easy. It’s hard to release control to those around me, because after all, I do everything better. Not really. But it is my job. I like to think that after 20 months with my employer, I’ve got it down. But I’ve been pink slipped. Or at least suspended for a month. Quite frankly, it’s horrifying.

All this is to say, I’m out of sorts. I’m looking at three weeks of laying on the couch. I can’t take the free time to clean the house, cook a healthy meal, or catch up on the never ending pile of laundry (despite the five loads my mother in law did while here). I can’t go for a walk or get  pampered. Ironically, for someone who lives for Colin’s daily naps, I am not looking forward to my free time one bit. I mean, really, I’ve already read all the 50 Shades of Grey novels, and there’s only so many episodes of Mob Wives a girl can watch. Not to mention, I think I am really gonna miss this guy:

So. Have you read any good books lately?

8 thoughts on “Read any good books lately?

  1. Dude, I’m so sorry about your foot. I can’t even imagine not being able to chase around your little dude and take care of the basic, daily things. Let me suggest the following activities:

    1. Cross stitching. Think of all the bitchy-messaged crossstitched goods you could make in this time. Then you could open up an Etsy shop and sell that shizz. For arse-loads of cash.

    2. Professional lemon swagger. Dude. You rocked that swag. And you probably wouldn’t need to move from the couch to turn that crap out at an alarming rate, and sell it to pretentious party planners in the greater Boston area.

    3. Have you read The Bloggess’s book? Apparently it’s bomb. http://www.amazon.com/Lets-Pretend-This-Never-Happened/dp/0399159010

    4. I wish I could add “see me” to this list. Unforch, I think we’re going to go see the baby in Santa Cruz. Like a good quasi-auntie should.

    Anyway. I wish I had more bomb ideas. I’m unemployed and childless…I usually spend a fair amount of time doing next to nothing other than blog surfing, reading and watching TV. And making weird crafts. Now that my unemployed (and also childless) husband is home…we do nothing together. It’s pretty rivveting.

    Btw, 50 Shades of Grey is on my “to read” list. But I’m too embarrassed to buy it at the store. Sooo, I’m probably gonna go download that stuff now.

  2. I guess it would suck if you were forced to lie around and do nothing. BUT I love doing that when the little one is napping. I have projects that I always ‘don’t have time for’ that I suppose I could do if I had to sit on the couch for 3 weeks. Most are photo related as you will see
    1) Scan old photos and create a DVD/CD/photobook online and give to relatives as XMAS gifts
    2) organize all my digital phots and get up to date on editing the gerat ones for our family photo yearbook that I want to make.
    3) finish the little ones baby book
    4) try to do a journal about myself (this website rootsandrings.com has a weekly 10 on Tuesday questions that can be fun to answer as a starting point)
    5) pinterest is quite addicting. You could create a board “things to do when I can get up off my rump”
    6) As for books to read…I am slightly embarrassed to say I read The Hunger Games trilogy and liked them. Augusten Burrows is an author I like and find him a bit sarcastic and rude but funny.
    7) Use this time to write more blog posts 🙂

  3. Thanks for the suggestions guys! Lesley I love the idea of the family yearbook. Something I definitely want to do this year.
    Bethany- the Bloggess’s book is a great idea. Definitely will download that once I’m finished with my current book. I’m afraid I already completed 12 lemon swags this week already, so I’m capped out for now. 😉

    • First of all I am not just an internet friend 😉 I am currently reading Let’s Pretend this Never Happened. It is LOL funny. You would really like it. She kinda reminds me of you in your ability to convey so much humor through writing.

      I also finished Game of Thrones recently, which is amazing, but a huge commitment and very intense. It took me like 9 months to finish 6 books (had to take timeouts to, you know, live life)

  4. I had a day to myself recently, and had absolutly no idea what to do with myself. Seriously sad.

    I recently had some time off my feet as well, and signed up for a free week’s trial of Hulu Plus. I watched Once Upon and Time and Smash, mainly, plus some random House Hunters episodes that don’t require a Plus membership. I’ve heard Game of Thrones is excellent, and all of the episodes seem to be available for viewing at HBO.com

    The Hunger Games was excellent, and it sucks you in and reads quickly, so it helps pass the time. Otherwise, I can’t think of anything else I’ve read recently that I really loved.

    Good luck!

  5. I have just read an incredible political thriller ebook. I was browsing around at amazon.com and found this ebook called The Cain Sanction, I read the preview and a few chapters. It really was a page turner can’t put it down kind of book.
    I didn’t know how it ends until the last sentence of the last page.. great read!!

  6. I was just looking at some of the TS vids; this one was one of the stdoanut vids, good job. It’s unfortunate that some one was trolling around when the voting process was underway; this deserves more than 2 stars.

  7. Hi…wishing you a quick recovery. I have a good book for you. A political thriller written by a woman. It’s called The Cain Sanction. The author is Mary McNally Ratto. I really like her style. It’s intelligent, thought provoking and a real page turner. I found it on Amazon. I can’t wait for the sequel. Take care.

I love it when internet friends tell me what's what. Leave a comment!

