Fat Tuesday: 3 Ingredient Slow Cooker Pulled Pork with Maple Glazed Carrots

Okay, I promised this pulled pork recipe about two months ago at this point. This is my ultimate easy recipe. I found it on Pinterest, naturally. Remind me again, what did we do before Pinterest? I’m at a loss. It’s like trying to remember a time before remote controls. And On-Demand. Cell phones. Yoga Pants. Or kids. Once you have them, you can’t imagine a time when you didn’t. Anyway, this recipe is easy peasy, cheap and sleazy. Well, it’s cheap and easy anyway.

For a side, I chose to pair it with some carrots. The reason being, in my health kick, I bought a 2 pound bag of baby carrots. Only to discover, I really don’t love baby carrots unless they’ve been buried in veggie dip. Mah bad. I needed to get rid of them. STAT. Sadly, if I am going to eat carrots, they will need to be cooked and doused in something yummy.  I remember my dad made some cooked carrots growing up. I stumbled upon this recipe for maple glazed carrots and decided they would pair well with the pork. When I’m right, people, boy am I right. I’m not altogether healthy, but I’m right. So let’s do this.

Three Ingredient Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Ingredientses:

1- 2lb. Pork Tenderloin (I got mine at Trader Joes)

1 8 oz. Can Diet Cola

1 Bottle of Barbecue Sauce (I use Sweet Baby Ray’s Honey Barbecue)

Directions:

Place pork tenderloin into slow cooker, fatty side up. Pour in cola and top the pork with 1/2 of the bottle of barbecue sauce. Cook on low for 4- 5 hours. Remove pork tenderloin, allow to cool and rest. Once cooled, pull apart pieces of the pork and replace into slow cooker. (Note: if liquid has not cooked down enough, you can remove some liquid from the slow cooker, leaving just a little to coat the bottom. You don’t want too much liquid). Coat pulled pork with remaining barbecue sauce to taste and allow to warm for 30 minutes.

Maple Glazed Baby Carrots:

Ingredientses:

1 pound bag baby carrots

3/4 tablespoons unsalted butter

1/4 cup water

1/4 cup maple syrup

2 tablespoons orange juice

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions:

Place all the ingredients in a medium, heavy saucepan.

Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally, until the carrots are tender and the sauce becomes a shiny glaze, about 15 minutes.

We served this meal with delicious Flaky Layers Grands biscuits. And I would like the official record to reflect I ONLY ATE ONE. This was strange, and I wasn’t altogether happy with that fact. So I did what anyone would do: I put about a half a stick of butter on it. But I ONLY HAD ONE, so there. See? I can totally diet.

One thought on “Fat Tuesday: 3 Ingredient Slow Cooker Pulled Pork with Maple Glazed Carrots

  1. Made this last night and it was so delicious! Awesome recipe! Can’t beat throwing three ingredients into a crock-pot. And we’re psyched to have leftovers to use for sandwiches this week. Thanks for sharing this. 🙂

I love it when internet friends tell me what's what. Leave a comment!

