Fat Tuesday [Apple Butter Pork Tenderloin]

Happy Fatty!  This week I tried my hand at Pork Tenderloin since I had all the ingredients on hand (which never happens around these parts). One tiny admission: I messed up. But it was still good. So if I can overcook this dish and it still tastes good? Imagine the possibilities if you cook it correctly!

So the moral of my story? Read the actual weight of the piece of meat you bought. Don’t assume all cooking directions apply. Doh.

Here we go:

Ingredientzes:

2 pound boneless pork loin roast (or in my case, a 1 pound roast- this is an important distinction as it turns out)

seasoning salt to taste (I used Jane’s Crazy Salt, but am sure a Lawry’s or Adobo seasoning would work, or just salt and pepper)

2 cups Spiced Apple Cider (I got mine at Trader Joe’s but you can always use regular old cider or apple juice)

1/2 cup apple butter (I had Stonewall Kitchen’s Caramel Apple Butter on hand, so I used this. Yummy!)

1/4 cup brown sugar

2 tablespoons water

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

2. Season the pork loin with seasoning salt, and place in a 9×13 inch baking dish or small roasting pan. Pour apple juice over the pork. Slather top of roast in the apple butter, brown sugar, water, cinnamon and clove mixture. Cover the dish with a lid or aluminum foil and bake for 1 hour (OR in my case, 30 minutes- with pork tenderloin you should cook 20-30 minutes per pound. WOOPS)

3. Remove roast from oven and allow to rest. Pour remainder of cooking juices into a sauce pan and simmer to reduce. Add in some corn starch to thicken if necessary.  Once reduced, pour over roast and serve. Like so:

That’s it, folks. In the words of Ina G, “How Easy is That?” And trust me, it’s GOOOOOOD.

I love it when internet friends tell me what's what. Leave a comment!

