Fat Tuesday [Pumpkin Chili]

Happy Fatty!  More importantly, Happy October Fatty.  As you can probably tell, we’re on a pumpkin kick over here.  And being that it’s the Fall, why the hell not, right?  When I was picking up my canned pumpkin for last week’s recipe, I remembered last fall I cooked up a pumpkin chili that was fab-u-lous. And I must have promptly lost the recipe, or maybe it was on my work computer, but all’s I know is it’s gone, which is a damn shame.  Anyway, I scrounged up another recipe off the interwebs, changed it up a bit as is my wont (using Cinnamon!), and am here to share.

I should warn ahead, this makes a wholelotta chili.  I was making up a batch to taste test for a party. And I am sure it would have been more than enough to share with the group. So if you are cooking for just two or three, go ahead and make this and store the rest in the freezer. I hear chili gets better with age.  Just like me.

Ingredientses (not all pictured):

2 tbsp vegetable oil

1/2 cup chopped onion

1 clove garlic, finely chopped

1 bell pepper, chopped

1 lb ground turkey (feel free to use ground beef if that’s your jam)

2 cans (no-salt added) diced tomatoes with juices

1 can tomato sauce

1 can pumpkin

1 can kidney beans, drained

1 can pink beans, drained (or you can use black beans, or no beans.whatever. I like beans. )

1 bag of frozen corn (I used Trader Joe’s Roasted Corn, which I think was a goooood idea)

1 1/2 tbsp Chili Powder

1 tbsp Adobo seasoning

1 tsp of Brown Sugar

1 tbsp of ground Cinnamon (I used this to bring out the pumpkin, and also I like a cinnamon tinge to my chili, so use less if you don’t)

Sour Cream & Scallions for garnish. Add cheese too!  I just didn’t have any on hand. Oh, and Tostitos. They go real good, too.

Directions:

1. Heat up oil in large saucepan (I used a large cast iron pot).  Large is the operative word.  Cook up onions, bell peppers, and garlic.

2. Add in ground turkey and brown. Drain once cooked.

3. Add in remainder of ingredients: tomatoes, tomato sauce, pumpkin, corn and spices.   Bring to a simmer and allow to simmer for 30-40 minutes to allow liquids to cook down. Try not to be alarmed by the sheer amount of chili you have just created:

(That’s a wholelotta chili!)

4. Serve up with sour cream, cheese and scallions. And grab some Tostitos. Cuz they gooood. Ready to drool? Do it:


Happy Pumpkin Fatty!  Enjoy.

PS- Because this was a less spicy, more brown sugar/cinnamon based chili, Colin loved this!  And I love anything I can share at the table with him. But if you prefer a spicier chili, I would switch out the amount of brown sugar/cinnamon and add green chiles. But then, that would be a whole different recipe!

2 thoughts on “Fat Tuesday [Pumpkin Chili]

  1. Pingback: Fat Tuesday [Pumpkin Chili] « | Your Halloween Costume

I love it when internet friends tell me what's what. Leave a comment!

