Dress it up

Little known fact: Back in high school and college, pretty much every shirt or top I owned was black. Literally. Every. Single. Item. You see, I am abnormally Irish pale. The kind of pale where your new boyfriend’s parents ask you if you are feeling ill. And then when you tell them you aren’t, that you are just normally this icky pallor, the mom offers you “rouge”. You read that right. ROUGE.  Which is a long way of saying I felt like wearing any sort of color could be risky, and if I was going to look pale anyway, black was a safe bet.

Well the other day I was looking through my closet and noticed I only own one black top these days, and it doesn’t really count since it’s a cardigan. But still. Even with all these exciting colors in my closet, like navy and cream and red and green, I’m still having trouble dressing myself. Like the way a toddler has trouble deciding what to wear when mommy allows him full access to his wardrobe. Except the toddler probably takes more risks and looks more fashion-forward.

Which is another long winded way of saying: I am a horrible dresser. Well, not horrible. But boring. I’m a boring dresser. Even for a stay at home mom.  I like basic tees and jeans paired with comfortable shoes. Which means not only do I look frumpy most of the time, but really boring. At least my hair is cooperating these days. Thank God for small miracles.

But I was on Pinterest the other day and came across some awesome outfit inspiration for the fashion challenged.  And the more I took in what I pinned, the more I realized, I’ve got most of the basic pieces. Which is good when you’re broke. So why is this so hard? Who knows, but I’ll go ahead and cheat and copy these instead- they’ll be my little daily cheat sheets. Shhh, don’t tell!

via

What I love about this outfit (besides the fact that I own some of these basics) is not only how simple and comfortable it is, but it’s pretty stylish as well. The key is layers and dressing it up with accessories. Perfect for a Saturday afternoon. I think I can do that. (I think I can, I think I can, I think I can….)

via

Again, a basic tee with jeans, which is usually my staple look.  But in this case, I’ll work in some accessories, like a nice fall bag and some really pretty jewelry. I’d wear this out to dinner. Earrings and heels? Night out in my book.

via

Are you sensing a theme here? Girlfriend likes herself a basic long sleeved tee with some jeansies. It’s a free country, I can do what I want. The key here is to dress it up and make it stylish, which is where I am lacking.  A lot. But again, I’ve got me some pearl earrings as well as the cream scarf. I also love the idea of pairing grey with a camel strap watch. Who woulda thought? Oh. Someone with style. Apparently, they call this color combo charcoal and cognac. I call it gray and brown. See? So sad. This outfit is a great go-to for trips to Target, the grocery store, the playground, etc. Which is pretty much what we do around here. And I love every minute of it. But maybe now I’ll feel a little more stylish.

I love it when internet friends tell me what's what. Leave a comment!

