Fat Tuesday [Baked Turkey Teriyaki Meatballs]

Happy Fatty!  This week’s recipe is an ode to Shaw’s grocery store, and more specifically, their ready to go a la carte hot bar. Yeah, I’m fancy. You see, they have this Teriyaki meatball that is legendary. I say legendary as it reached that status in my mind because in the entire time I lived in Boston, I ordered it once and then never saw it on offer again. Which was a shame really, cuz they was delicious. Especially with their fried rice. Yummy. So I decided to cobble together a few recipes found on the old interwebs and came up with this deliciousness. Try it out.

Turkey Teriyaki Meatballs

Ingredientses:

1 lb. Ground Turkey

3 stems of scallions (green onions), chopped

1 tbsp Ginger (if you’re not a fan of ginger, I’d go ahead and skip this)

1/4 cup of teriyaki sauce (I cheated and bought it)

1 cup of plain bread crumbs

1 tsp soy sauce

1 egg, beaten

Cooking spray

Glaze Sauce:

1 cup of Teriyaki Sauce

1 can diced pineapple with juice

Directions:

1. Combine ground turkey, teriyaki sauce, egg, scallions, bread crumbs and ginger. Combine well.

2. Line baking sheet with aluminum foil. Form 2 inch meatballs and place onto baking sheet, like so:

3. Place into 375 degree oven for 20 minutes.

4. Pour glaze ingredients into large sauce pan. Add partially cooked meatballs and simmer for 10 minutes. Remove from heat and serve over rice.

Yummy!

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Fat Tuesday [Baked Turkey Teriyaki Meatballs]

  1. The after picture looks so tasty! I printed out a copy to try. Do you think I’d need to change anything or would is still taste good if I used hamburger that I already have on hand? Renea

I love it when internet friends tell me what's what. Leave a comment!

