Fat Tuesday [Cornish Game Hen with Roasted Vegetables]

Happy Fatty!  I’ve decided that it’s high time I start to actually cook meals in my home again (rather than re-heat or defrost).  And this one’s really easy, and perfect for the fall.  Perfect comfort food! And the best part? Takes about 10 minutes to put together.

Cornish game hens- I can’t hear those words without giggling thinking of the commercial (I think it’s for cell phones?) with the lady walking through a parking lot with her husband talking about how she is going to serve them at a dinner party “that way everyone gets their own little chicken”. And for someone who hates sharing, getting my own little chicken is kinda perfect.

Ingredientses:

2 cornish game hens*

Chicken seasoning (I use McCormick’s Chicken Seasoning)

1 head of Cauliflower

Baby Carrots

Sea Salt

Olive Oil

*recipe serves two, not four*

Directions:

1. Get your game hens on, people!  Really though, just prepare the CGH by rinsing thouroughly and patting dry. Then season as desired on both sides. Place those puppies on a baking sheet or in a roasting pan and place in an oven set to 350 degrees for 1 hour.

2. Next up, grab the cauliflower and chop into 1 inch florets.  Place on baking sheet with baby carrots (onions would be super yummy too, though I didn’t have any on hand) and sprinkle with olive oil and salt. Coat vegetables and spread evenly. Place in oven with hens for 30-45 minutes. Toss about 20 minutes in to ensure even roasting.  Have child supervise roasting, like so:

Mmmm, roasted carrots.

That’s it. Plate it up and call it a day. Kase has already requested this meal again, and it’s so easy, I am inclined to go ahead and do it, like the good little lady wife I am. I would do more roasted veggies next time though- Colin ate all my carrots. Apparently, despot *loves* himself some roasted carrots. And since he rarely eats veggies, I’m gonna go with it!

What was especially nice about this particular meal? We got to eat it as a family at our dining room table. Which is a first. Really.

Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Fat Tuesday [Cornish Game Hen with Roasted Vegetables]

  1. Hey, Kate. Total cautionary story here, but seeing your little despot next to the oven reminded me of my hunband’s cousin’s son (did you catch all that-HA) who burned his hand on a closed wall oven. Anyway, one of the edges of their unit gets really hot and his hand actually blistered. They had several doctor visits associated with it and the stove manufacturer gave them all kinds of hassle. Long story short, you might want to check your wall oven to make sure yours stays cool on the outside like it’s supposed to. Ours stays cool, so our little guy looks just like Colin whenever we’re cooking something in there.

    As for the cornish game hens, I SO need to try that. I purchased some when we first moved into our house six years ago, but they got tossed because I was too scared to ever try it. You might just have me convinced to purchase some and just go for it.

    • Eek, Elizabeth! Scary!! Luckily, our oven stays nice and cool to the touch and I snapped that photo pretty quickly, as the despot may or may not have ADD and quickly moved on. 😉 Definitely try the hens though- they are easier than anything, except a regular roaster chicken- but in this case, you get your own, so no messy carving!

  2. You sure them there hens aint just for company’s comin, fancy eatin? Because they look kinda impressive to me and like it would be a shame to waste it on just us. Then again, this coming from a girl that looks forward to sloppy joe night. For reals though, I’ll have to keep an eye out for them in the grocery because now I know what to do with em. And for the love…roasted veggies are my kryptonite. I don’t care what it is, roast it and I’m eating mine, yours and anybody else’s.

    • Shan, definitely try them. They are so easy. And did I mention cheap? 7 bucks for both of them together. That’s cheaper than my turkey sloppy joe’s. So when you’re feeling like fancy chikin eatin, try some hens. They are just tiny chickens, but you get to feel like you’re eatin real good. And also? Now I have a guests-for-dinner recipe that won’t leave me having an anxiety attack. Winner winner, cornish game hen dinner.

  3. Wow – Those look amazing! You are just the perfect cook – please call us when you make these again! We may just “swing” on by!!

I love it when internet friends tell me what's what. Leave a comment!

