Fat Tuesday: Watermelon Basil & Feta Salad

Hey there fatty!  I got my butt back in the old kitchen and whipped up a tasty little dish this weekend.  We are basically homesteading on our patio- we are swimming in basil, people. Swimming in it.  And I love a pesto as much as the next girl, but in 90 degree heat? Pasta isn’t really up my alley in that kind of weather. But you know what is? WATERMELON.

I love me some watermelon.  We joke around that Colin is 75% Yogiberry (a self serve soft serve yogurt store in Shirlington) and 25% Watermelon. I lived on the stuff last summer while pregnant.  Strangely enough, I haven’t partaken in it too much since he was born.  But I whipped up this salad and ate the entire thing. Man, I forgot how much I love watermelon. Yummy! So here ya go:

Watermelon, cut into 1 inch cubes

Feta cheese, cut into 1 inch cubes

Basil, julienned, to taste

Salt and Pepper to taste

This is going to be filed under “Recipes so easy, even Kate can make it!”

"Hey bud, grab me a cutting board, would ya?"

And…yeah, that’s it. Easy peasy.  And oh so yummy. Trust.

Here’s a sneak peak for next week’s Fat Tuesday. Get excited, cuz it’s TASTY:

One thought on “Fat Tuesday: Watermelon Basil & Feta Salad

I love it when internet friends tell me what's what. Leave a comment!

