Fat Tuesday [Peanut Noodle Salad]

Let’s try something new shall we? It’s called Cooking. Yes, I know, I love to eat. But I have a confession. Me no likey the cooking.  I blame the fact that I always assume that if I follow a recipe, it will end up being super delicious, and it always ends up okay, but not “it was so worth it to cook this myself rather than order this” kind of good. Know what I’m saying? I never have that issue with baked goods, which is why I love baking. But cooking? Not so much.

So in order to motivate myself to cook more meals at home, I am going to start a little thing called “Fat Tuesdays”.  These will consist of me sharing simple simple simple recipes I have tried out and which have gotten the seal of approval from the Man of the House (Kase, not Colin. Colin is the Despot of the House).

A couple of weekends ago, we had some friends over for a barbecue.  Except I felt like making it a little different, so we decided to call it a Tiki Barbecue and serve some food of that ilk.  Which meant I made some sweet and sour shrimp kebabs (skewers?), chicken satay and then a peanut noodle salad. I made a lot of it- for about 12-15 people- so we actually ate the leftovers on Saturday with my parents.  More good reviews.  So, I feel confident enough to share.

Peanut Noodle Salad

1 package of Udon Noodles (can be found in International Food Aisle)

1 bottles of Annie Chun Peanut Sauce  or if you like it spicier, try House of Siam Bankok Peanut Sauce (the noodles will drink up this sauce, so be prepared!)

Diced red pepper (or orange, or yellow, or hell, all three. why not)

Snow peas

1 Can Bean Sprouts (La Choy makes this)

Shredded carrot

Diced mango

1 package of stir fry chicken pieces

Directions:

Dice all vegetables (or drain from can) and place in large bowl, like so:

action shot!

Boil noodles for 4 minutes or according to package instructions. Remove from water and rinse thoroughly. Add to vegetables in bowl and add some peanut sauce (otherwise, the noodles will stick together like glue. No bueno). Toss to coat.

that's a whole lotta peanut sauce. now add more.

Cook chicken and when cooked, add Peanut sauce to brown.  Remove from pan and add to noodles.

Add remainder of bottle of peanut sauce and toss. No, I am not joking. Trust me.

Place in fridge to cool for 30 minutes.

I am far superior at eating than I am at food photography.

Eat. Then have seconds.

That’s it, Folks.  But trust- it gets pretty good reviews around these here parts.

One thought on “Fat Tuesday [Peanut Noodle Salad]

  1. I am really excited about this new feature. I’m not the biggest fan of cooking but apparently if I want to be able to sit home and blog all day while Gabe chases the cat then the husband expects a meal every now and then. Effer. And I loooooove peanut flavored anything so I’m totally doing this one. I also love noodle anything. Score.

I love it when internet friends tell me what's what. Leave a comment!

