I say Brooshetta, you say Broosketta. Let’s call the whole thing off.

I say brooshetta.  You say broosketta. Apparently, I am wrong, wrong, wrong.  Whatever.  I think saying the word “Bruschetta” as Broo-sket-uh sounds pretentious. Because saying things correctly is pretentious.

But moving right along, I made this recipe a couple of nights ago.  Easy peasy!  Personally, I would make a few minor changes- I would pound the chicken into thin cutlets rather than cut into bite size pieces and use a thicker shredded cheese, but that is just me.  Presenting Bruschetta Chicken Bake! Cue salivation:

Extreme Cheese Close Up. You're welcome.

Yup, it’s a little trip to Yummy Town.  And you know me, I love me some travel. But let me tell you the reason I made this the other night: 1.) It is way easy. 2.) It involves Stove Top Stuffing. and C.) CHEESE!

Ingredients:
1 can (14-1/2 oz.) diced tomatoes, undrained
1 pkg.  (6 oz.) STOVE TOP Stuffing Mix for Chicken
1/2 cup water
2 cloves  garlic, minced
1-1/2 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite-size pieces (again, I would probably use cutlets)
1 tsp.  dried basil leaves
1 cup Milk Shredded Mozzarella Cheese (Don’t use the thin shred.  Next time, I would use the more thickly shredded cheese.)
HEAT oven to 400 degrees Farenheit
MIX tomatoes, stuffing mix, water and garlic just until stuffing mix is moistened.
LAYER chicken, basil and cheese in 3-qt. casserole or 13×9-inch baking dish.
TOP with stuffing. Bake 30 min. or until chicken is done.
Voila, peeps. Done and done. Enjoy!
One thought on “I say Brooshetta, you say Broosketta. Let’s call the whole thing off.

  1. I’ve totally made this before! It’s an old fave. And yummy town is my ultimate destination. Oh and people who say bru-sketta are the same that say Mootz-a-rella, not Motz and Manigot, not Manicotti…italian americans who are trying too hard. Personally I think they just sound dumb.

I love it when internet friends tell me what's what. Leave a comment!

